Tag Archives: Security

MC Security Tip – Hiding Labor Rates


A number of organizations maintain labor rates in MC to allow for accurate labor costing. When actual pay rates are maintained in MC (vs. fixed rates), it is often important to ensure that this information is hidden from other staff members.

To hide labor rate information from members of an access group:

  • Open the Access Group Module
  • Select the Access Group for which labor rates are to be hidden.
  • Click the Rights Tab.
  • Select Labor Module from the Module Filter on the left, and then ensure that All is selected from the Type Filter.
  • Locate the Tab Access Right to Access Labor Rates Tab and select it.
  • Remove the “Enabled” indicator for this right:

  • Click Apply and then click Save to apply this change.
  • The right should show with a “-” indicating that it is not enabled:

Once this right has been disabled, members of the access group will no longer see labor rates. The Labor Rates tab will no longer be accessible from the Labor Module. In addition, when the Work Order Costs Tab is accessed, the Labor Section will not show any other member as this page displays calculated labor costs based on rates. If there is an Actual Labor record for the logged in user this will display, as members can always see their own information. In the following example, the work order has two actual labor records, but when Emily looks at the page, only her own record shows, as she does not have access to “Labor Rates”:

If Emily tries to add a new labor record by clicking the Add Button, the Labor Lookup will only allow her to select her own record. This ensures that she cannot view rate data from any other labor record:

Tip: Emily would be allowed to add actual labor for another member in the Enhanced Complete/Close Dialog as this feature does not show labor rates when adding actual labor.

When hiding labor rates, it is also important to remember to limit Reporting Rights for these users. That is, you must ensure that you are not giving users access to labor rates through reports, such as Work Order Actual Labor Reports. In most organizations, Access Groups that are not allowed to see labor rates are limited to specific Custom Report Groups, and are not given the right to Access Report Criteria or Setup:

Advertisements

MC Security Tip – Preventing Record Deletions


The most common “panic” call received by the Maintenance Connection Support Team is from customers who have inadvertently deleted records that they did not intend to delete. Deletions in MC are controlled by access group permissions, but even users with the appropriate permission can inadvertently delete the wrong record, bypassing the warning that displays with too quick of a “click”! After numerous calls from customers who found themselves in this situation, we added a feature in v5.0 that adds an extra layer of precaution to the process, prompting the user to enter a delete password confirmation before any records can be deleted.


To set up your system to prompt for a delete password:

  • Open the Tools Menu and select Preferences.
  • Select System from the Module/Category folders on the left.
  • Scroll down until you find the Settings preference for “Require password for delete

  • Select the setting and designate the password you would like users to enter upon attempting to delete a record. Click Apply once specified.
  • In the following example, any user deleting a record would have to enter “Check345” prior to being allowed to delete a record:

Even with these extra precautions in place, customers may find themselves in situations in which important records (such as assets) were inadvertently deleted. To assist customers, a Knowledge Base Article is available from MC User Connect. To access it, log into MC User Connect, select Knowledge Base from the Menu Bar, and then click on the Installation and Environment Category. The article will be listed:

As explained in the Knowledge Base Article, MC Support Staff will request additional details about the data that is lost in order to determine how best to assist you. For example, if a single asset was deleted, they may be able to assist you in recreating that asset and “reconnecting” it to work order history. If extensive data was lost, it may be determined that a database restore should be considered.

The MC User Connect Knowledge Base has numerous articles that have proven valuable to our customers. Be sure to log in and check out the articles that are available:

MC v6.0 – 4 of 6 – Reporter and Password Management


In this fourth post in the MC v6.0 series, we will highlight some Reporter enhancements, along with the new Password Management Feature.

Reporter Enhancements
The Report List has been enhanced with a “grid” style display, providing additional information to assist when searching for reports:

Report names are truncated to fit into the allowable space, with the full name and description available through a “tooltip”. On the left of the list is a grid, specifying the type of report. These columns can be sorted to quickly locate a particular type of report, such as one scheduled for distribution, or one with a locked setup:

On the far right of the list are columns that show the number of times each report has run (Run Count), as well as the date it was last run (Last Run). This allows for a better audit of report usage, and adds the ability to sort reports by “last run” to expedite locating frequently run reports.

Refer to the following sections of the Reporter Guide for information on additional new features available:

  • Retention of Multiple Selections made in Report Criteria: Report Criteria -> Defining Criteria -> Text Fields -> Connected to a Module Lookup
  • Specifying Days to Exclude Scheduled Reports: Report Setup -> Schedule Tab -> Email Sub-Tab
  • Sub Report Display Controls: Report Setup -> Sub-Reports Tab
  • Style Editor for Conditional Formatting: Report Setup -> Style/Format Tab -> Format Sub-Tabs->Style Editor



Password Management
The new Password Management Feature allows System Administrators to modify passwords on behalf of users. In addition, new settings are available to specify the desired level of security for password definition and whether users should be prompted to change their password after a specified number of days.

Note: Access to this feature is controlled through two new Access Group Permissions.

To edit a member’s password:

  1. Access the Password Management Tool (Tools -> Password Management…).
  2. Use the filter and search controls on the top of the dialog to locate the record to be updated.


  3. Click on the record to modify. The Edit Member Dialog will display, with the password field pre-selected for editing.


  4. To modify the password on behalf of the member, enter a new password in the first password prompt field. Passwords must meet the parameters defined for your organization on the Security Setting Tab. As a new value is entered, the strength of the password entered will be shown to the right of the field prompt.


    Password Strength Options are defined as follows:


  5. Confirm the new password by entering the same value into the second (confirm) password prompt. Until the values match, the following message will be displayed below the password prompts:


  6. If you would like the member to be prompted to change the assigned password upon next login, click the following indicator:


  7. When you are finished changing the password, click the Apply Button.


    Note: To cancel without changing the password, click Cancel.

You will be returned to the Password Management Members Page.



How do I get more info on Password Management?

  • MC User Connect Video: Tutorials and Docs -> Tutorials -> MC v6.0 -> Password Management
  • User Guide: System Administration->System Security->Password Management

Stay tuned next week for information on the new Message Center, and the enhancements to the Rules Manager for sending event based text messages and online alerts.